Warner Pic

Charleston, W.Va –  On Monday, March 18, WV Secretary of State Mac Warner traveled to Lewis County to present Lewis County High School (LCHS) with the Jennings Randolph Award for Civic Engagement. Jennings Randolph Award-winning schools must lead a student effort to register to vote at least 85% of their eligible senior class. LCHS is one of only 26 schools in the state that have received this prestigious recognition for the 2023-24 school year.

Principal John Whiston and Civics Teacher Debbie Gump accepted the Jennings Randolph Award on behalf of Lewis County High School. This is also their first time winning the Award since its inception. 

Created by the WV Secretary of State's Office in 1994, the Jennings Randolph Award commemorates our late U.S. Senator Jennings Randolph’s legacy as the Father of the 26th Amendment. One of the defining moments in voting rights history, the 26th Amendment was passed in 1971. The Amendment lowered the voting age from 21 to 18.

Also recognized during the Award presentation were LCHS seniors Tyler Weese and Jordyn Aman. Principal Whiston recommended Weese and Aman for the designation of Honorary Secretary of State for their role in leading the voter registration effort.

In attendance with Secretary Warner were Lewis County Clerk Cindy Rowan and State Senator Ben Queen. Other local officials who participated in the award assembly included County Commissioners Agnes Queen and Rob Wyman, Circuit Court Judge Kurt Hall, Circuit Court Clerk Beth Burkhart, Magistrate Brycen Williams, Weston Mayor Kim Harrison, Jane Lew Mayor Ruth Straley and Weston City Council members Sherry Rogers and Debbie Gump.